top of page

Discovering Self Publishing


So this is new for me. Not the writing part, but the putting my work out there for all to read, comment and sometimes criticize.

I have always wanted to be an author, always aspired to write and be picked up by one of those big name publishers. I admit, I sent a few pieces off to different publishing houses and agents, and those who did respond, sent me one of those lovely letters, that say 'thanks but no thanks'.

So I stopped writing for a while, and I shelved that dream thinking I wasn't good enough to be a 'real author'.

So what made me take the plunge and self publish?

I'll be honest, I didn't even know it was possible until very early this year. Another author, someone I met through a different Facebook group, enlightened me to the options of self publishing, and the ease of getting a book on the market. Of course, I still had my doubts, but I followed the guidance, and finished a small memoir, testing it with the market.

Now I'll be honest, it hasn't hit the best sellers charts, and I'm not a millionaire, but I didn't expect that. I'm not sure what I expected really. What it did give me was confidence.

Confidence to pick up some of the stories I had shelved, and bring them back out of the dust pile. I know I can write, I may not ever be a best seller, but I am following my dream. I can now openly say I am a published author, and that is something to be proud of.

So my advice, follow your dreams, whatever they may be. Don't let anyone say 'thanks but no thanks'. Your destiny is in your own hands!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page